SM04554 vs Minoxidil vs Setipiprant: Head-To-Head Research Compound Comparison | NutraBiotech
📅 September 23, 2026 ⏱ 16 min read 🧪 Hair Research Chemicals / Dermatological API ✏️ NutraBiotech Research Team 🔄 Updated 2026

SM04554 (Dalosirvat): Wnt Pathway Activator – Mechanism, Solubility & Research Guide

SM04554 is the development code for Dalosirvat (CAS 1360540-81-3, C18H16O4, MW 296.32) — a small-molecule direct Wnt/β-catenin pathway activator with EC50 28–29 nM in cell-based reporter assays. It is not a vasodilator (Minoxidil), not a CRTH2 antagonist (Setipiprant), not an androgen-receptor antagonist (RU58841) — it works on a different biological pathway with a different molecular weight, a different solubility profile, and a different clinical trajectory. This guide covers the chemistry, the stock-solution failure modes, and the head-to-head comparison a procurement manager needs before sourcing research material.

Research use only. SM04554 (Dalosirvat), Minoxidil, Setipiprant and RU58841 are all investigational research compounds, supplied under a research-use-only end-use statement. None is approved by the FDA, EMA, PMDA or NMPA as a finished drug, supplement, cosmetic, or consumer hair-loss treatment. Material supplied under this note is restricted to in vitro and animal laboratory research; no medical, dosage, or therapeutic use is implied or supported. All four compounds are covered under the standard supplier-side RUO terms and the destination-jurisdiction regulatory check.

At a Glance

SM04554 (Dalosirvat) is a direct small-molecule Wnt/β-catenin pathway activator with EC50 28–29 nM in cell-based reporter assays, originated by Biosplice Therapeutics (formerly Samumed) as a topical 0.15 % / 0.25 % solution for androgenetic alopecia. The compound advanced through Phase 2 (NCT02275351, NCT02503137) and Phase 2/3 (NCT03742518) trials before development was cancelled after the Phase 3 read-out in 2023. Minoxidil is the FDA-approved vasodilator repurposed for topical hair growth; Setipiprant (ACT-129968) is the CRTH2/DP2 antagonist tested in Phase 2A AGA; RU58841 (PSK-3841) is the topical non-steroidal antiandrogen with Kd 1.1–1.8 nM at the androgen receptor.

SM04554 CAS
1360540-81-3
Minoxidil CAS
38304-91-5
Setipiprant CAS
906820-08-4
RU58841 CAS
154992-24-2
SM04554 MW
296.32 g/mol
Minoxidil MW
209.25 g/mol
Setipiprant MW
402.42 g/mol
RU58841 MW
369.34 g/mol
SM04554 status
Phase 2/3 cancelled (2023)
Minoxidil status
FDA-approved (topical)
Setipiprant status
Phase 2A failed (2018)
RU58841 status
Research only

1. What Is SM04554 (Dalosirvat)?

SM04554 is the Biosplice (formerly Samumed) development code for Dalosirvat, a synthetic small molecule disclosed as compound 1 in patent WO2012024404A1 and progressed into three clinical trials for androgenetic alopecia before the company cancelled the programme after the Phase 3 read-out in 2023. The molecule is structurally a 1,4-diketone bridging a 2,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodioxin-6-yl group on one side and a phenyl group on the other; the IUPAC name is 1-(2,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodioxin-6-yl)-4-phenylbutane-1,4-dione.

The compound is supplied as the free molecule — no salt form is in commercial circulation — and is sold under research-use-only terms at research (5 mg – 100 mg), custom (up to 1 G) and bulk (1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG) pack sizes. The mechanism of action is direct activation of the canonical Wnt/β-catenin signalling pathway; the EC50 in cell-based TOP-Flash reporter assays is 28–29 nM.

1.1 Chemical Profile & Basic Specs

FieldValue
CAS Registry1360540-81-3
PubChem CID56837361
DrugBankDB18960
UNIIQX6T87A52I
ChEMBLChEMBL4650339
InChIKeyAOCDRSSVFUCURK-UHFFFAOYSA-N
IUPAC name1-(2,3-dihydro-1,4-benzodioxin-6-yl)-4-phenylbutane-1,4-dione
SynonymsDalosirvat; SM-04554; SM 04554; SM04554; Wnt pathway activator 1
Molecular formulaC18H16O4
Molecular weight296.32 g·mol−1
Exact mass (monoisotopic)296.1049 g·mol−1
AppearanceLight yellow to yellow solid powder
SMILESO=C(C1=CC=C(OCCO2)C2=C1)CCC(C3=CC=CC=C3)=O
PubChem CID56837361
Drug class (ATC)Wnt signalling pathway stimulant (ATC: none assigned)

1.2 Origin & Clinical Background

SM04554 was disclosed by Samumed (rebranded Biosplice Therapeutics in 2020) and entered the clinic as a topical 0.15 % / 0.25 % solution for androgenetic alopecia. The reported Phase 2 data showed that only the 0.15 % concentration produced a statistically meaningful change versus vehicle; the 0.25 % arm did not. A 625-patient Phase 3 trial (NCT03742518) was reportedly initiated in 2018; the compound completed a Phase 3 read-out in early 2023 and Biosplice cancelled the dalosirvat programme based on those results. The most recent public update (October 2025) records no further disclosed trials.

NCTSponsorIndicationPhaseStart
NCT02275351Biosplice TherapeuticsAndrogenetic alopeciaPhase 22014-11
NCT02503137Biosplice TherapeuticsAndrogenetic alopeciaPhase 22015-08
NCT03742518Biosplice TherapeuticsAndrogenetic alopeciaPhase 2/32018-11
Composition & IP: SM04554 is the molecule originally disclosed as compound 1 in patent WO2012024404A1 (Biosplice / Samumed). The compound is supplied as a research chemical under the RUO end-use statement; no generic version is in authorised commerce. Procurement specifications should always carry the originating patent reference and the Biosplice representative lot number; quotations issued without either are not valid for research-grade procurement.

2. SM04554 Physicochemical Properties

The single largest practical driver of any SM04554 stock-solution protocol is solubility. The compound is freely soluble in anhydrous DMSO at 83.33 mg/mL (281.22 mM) with ultrasonication, sparingly soluble in ethanol and methanol, and practically insoluble in water and aqueous buffers. Repeated opening of the bulk container under ambient humidity picks up surface moisture and accelerates degradation, because the compound is hygroscopic.

VehicleSolubility (reported)Notes
DMSO (anhydrous)83.33 mg/mL (281.22 mM)Ultrasonication recommended for full dissolution
EthanolSparingly solubleSonication and warming aid dissolution
MethanolSparingly solubleSame as ethanol
DMFFreely solubleCommon alternative to DMSO for stock
Water / PBS (pH 7.4)Insoluble / precipitationDo not attempt direct aqueous stock; use DMSO dilution
Cell culture media (RPMI / DMEM)Precipitation above low-µMDMSO dilution into pre-warmed media required
10 % DMSO + 40 % PEG300 + 5 % Tween-80 + 45 % saline≥ 2.08 mg/mL (7.02 mM)Standard in vivo vehicle; clear solution

2.1 Solubility & Stock Solution Preparation

The standard 10 mM stock for cell-based reporter assays is prepared in anhydrous DMSO at 2.96 mg/mL. The DMSO stock is stable 24 months at −80 °C and 12 months at −20 °C, protected from light and from repeated freeze-thaw cycles. Working solutions in cell-culture media are prepared by dilution of the DMSO stock into pre-warmed media at a final DMSO concentration ≤ 0.1 % v/v; higher DMSO concentrations can interfere with the Wnt reporter readout in some cell systems.

Common lab failure: Researchers attempt to dissolve SM04554 in water, leading to precipitation and incorrect assay results. The reported aqueous solubility of SM04554 is below the limit of reliable gravimetric preparation; direct weighing into water, PBS or cell-culture media without a DMSO intermediate produces visible precipitation at every concentration reported in the literature. The most common failure mode is a flat TOP-Flash Wnt reporter curve at expected biological concentrations, attributable not to mechanism but to compound sitting at the bottom of the well rather than in solution. The standard protocol is: (i) dissolve in anhydrous DMSO at ≥ 10 mM with ultrasonication, (ii) aliquot into single-use amber screw-cap vials, (iii) store at −20 °C protected from light, (iv) dilute into pre-warmed assay media at the day of use, (v) keep final DMSO ≤ 0.1 % v/v in the assay plate.

For in vivo dosing, the published vehicle is 10 % DMSO + 40 % PEG300 + 5 % Tween-80 + 45 % saline, which yields a clear solution at ≥ 2.08 mg/mL (7.02 mM). The compound is also compatible with 20 % SBE-β-CD in saline and with corn oil at ≥ 2.5 mg/mL.

3. SM04554 vs Other Hair Research Compounds

The four compounds most frequently named in hair research procurement — SM04554, Minoxidil, Setipiprant and RU58841 — work on four different biological pathways. They are not interchangeable in a hair research workflow, and a quotation issued against one cannot be substituted for another.

CompoundCASMechanism classPrimary targetTopical/OralStatus (2026)
SM045541360540-81-3Direct Wnt/β-catenin activatorWnt pathway (EC50 28–29 nM)Topical 0.15 % / 0.25 %Phase 2/3 cancelled (2023); RUO
Minoxidil38304-91-5KATP channel opener / vasodilatorSUR2B-containing KATP channelsTopical 2 % / 5 %FDA-approved; reference standard
Setipiprant906820-08-4DP2/CRTH2 antagonistCRTH2 (IC50 6 nM)OralPhase 2A AGA failed (2018); RUO
RU58841154992-24-2Non-steroidal AR antagonist (topical)Androgen receptor (Kd 1.1–1.8 nM)Topical 1 % / 5 %Research only; never approved
Not all hair research compounds work on the same biological pathway. SM04554 activates Wnt signalling from above the bulge (follicle stem-cell activation); Minoxidil opens KATP channels and drives vasodilation + dermal papilla cell viability; Setipiprant blocks prostaglandin-D2-driven follicle miniaturisation at the DP2 receptor; RU58841 blocks androgen binding at the receptor in the follicle. The four compounds address four different nodes of the same complex hair-loss pathway — and a research workflow that confuses them produces mechanistic conclusions that do not replicate. Procurement specifications must fix CAS against molecular target.

3.1 SM04554 vs Minoxidil

The two compounds address different nodes of the hair-growth pathway and produce different biological readouts at different concentrations on different cell systems.

AxisSM04554Minoxidil
CAS1360540-81-338304-91-5
MW296.32 g/mol209.25 g/mol
Mechanism classDirect Wnt/β-catenin pathway activatorATP-sensitive KATP channel opener / vasodilator
Direct receptor targetWnt pathway (no classical receptor)SUR2B-containing KATP channels
EC50 / potency28–29 nM (Wnt reporter)Active only after sulfotransferase conversion to minoxidil sulfate
DMSO solubility83.33 mg/mL2–3.6 mg/mL
Aqueous solubilityPractically insolubleInsoluble in water (~1 mg/mL PBS)
FormTopical solution 0.15 % / 0.25 %Topical solution 2 % / 5 %; oral (Loniten, antihypertensive)
Regulatory statusInvestigational; RUO onlyFDA-approved (1988 topical, 1979 oral)
HS code2932.99 (oxygen-heterocyclic)2933.59 (pyrimidine ring)
Bulk pack sizes1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG
Best applicationWnt pathway reporter assays; anagen-induction in follicle organ cultureDermal papilla viability assays; cutaneous blood-flow studies

Mechanism difference: SM04554 activates the Wnt/β-catenin pathway directly, driving β-catenin nuclear translocation and TCF/LEF reporter activity. Minoxidil opens KATP channels, producing membrane hyperpolarisation in vascular smooth muscle and dermal papilla cells, and requires metabolic activation by follicular sulfotransferase to its active sulphate form — the rate-limiting step for any non-responder. The two compounds have no shared mechanism and produce non-overlapping biological signatures.

Solubility & formulation difference: SM04554 is freely soluble in DMSO (83.33 mg/mL) but practically insoluble in water. Minoxidil is moderately soluble in DMSO (2–3.6 mg/mL) and ethanol (~7 mg/mL), and insoluble in water. Both require co-solvent vehicles for cell-based work; the standard SM04554 vehicle is 10 % DMSO + 40 % PEG300 + 5 % Tween-80 + 45 % saline; the standard Minoxidil vehicle is propylene glycol / ethanol / water at the cosmetic-grade ratio.

Research application scenarios: SM04554 fits Wnt-pathway reporter screens (TOP-Flash), anagen-induction in human hair follicle organ culture, β-catenin nuclear translocation assays, and Axin2/Lef1 qPCR. Minoxidil fits dermal papilla cell proliferation, KATP channel opening assays, sulfotransferase activity assays, and cutaneous blood-flow imaging.

3.2 SM04554 vs Setipiprant

SM04554 and Setipiprant address different mechanisms (Wnt activation vs prostaglandin-D2 receptor antagonism), have different molecular weights (296.32 vs 402.42 g/mol), different solubilities, and different clinical trajectories.

AxisSM04554Setipiprant
CAS1360540-81-3906820-08-4
MW296.32 g/mol402.42 g/mol
Mechanism classDirect Wnt/β-catenin pathway activatorSelective DP2/CRTH2 antagonist
Direct targetWnt pathway (no classical receptor)DP2 / CRTH2 (Kd 6 nM)
OriginatorBiosplice Therapeutics (formerly Samumed)Actelion / Kythera / Allergan
Development codesSM-04554; Wnt pathway activator 1ACT-129968; KYTH-105
DMSO solubility83.33 mg/mL48.7 mg/mL
DMF solubilityFreely soluble50.0 mg/mL
Ethanol solubilitySparingly soluble3.0 mg/mL
Aqueous solubilityInsolubleInsoluble (≤ 0.5 mg/mL in DMF:PBS 1:1)
Form (clinical)Topical 0.15 % / 0.25 %Oral (44–55 % oral bioavailability in animal)
Half-life (human)Not reported for clinical formulation~11 h oral
Regulatory statusInvestigational; RUO onlyInvestigational; RUO only
HS code2932.99 (oxygen-heterocyclic)2933.99 (nitrogen-heterocyclic)
Bulk pack sizes1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG
Best applicationWnt reporter assays; anagen inductionCRTH2 binding assays; Th2 cytokine release; DP2 occupancy

Target pathway: SM04554 acts upstream of follicle stem-cell activation by direct Wnt/β-catenin agonism. Setipiprant acts on the prostaglandin-D2 signalling axis by blocking the DP2/CRTH2 receptor that drives Th2-cell activation, eosinophil chemotaxis, and (in hair follicle biology) follicle miniaturisation. The two compounds sit on different branches of the same overall hair-growth pathway and produce distinct biological signatures.

Molecular properties & handling: SM04554 is hygroscopic and light-sensitive; storage at −20 °C in amber containers is the standard. Setipiprant is more chemically stable at ambient temperature in powder form but requires the same DMSO dilution protocol for cell-based work; the standard 10 mM Setipiprant stock is 4.02 mg/mL in DMSO. The Setipiprant Phase 2A AGA study completed in May 2018 in males 18–49 did not find statistically significant improvement versus placebo; the asthma and allergic rhinitis programmes were discontinued earlier. Setipiprant remains research-only.

3.3 SM04554 vs RU58841

RU58841 (PSK-3841) is a non-steroidal androgen-receptor antagonist designed for topical application. It is the most mechanistically distinct of the four compounds and is not a hair-growth stimulant in the same sense as the other three.

AxisSM04554RU58841
CAS1360540-81-3154992-24-2
MW296.32 g/mol369.34 g/mol
Mechanism classDirect Wnt/β-catenin pathway activatorNon-steroidal AR antagonist (topical)
Direct targetWnt pathway (no classical receptor)Androgen receptor (Kd 1.1–1.8 nM at AR)
OriginatorBiosplice Therapeutics (formerly Samumed)Roussel Uclaf; later ProStrakan
SynonymsSM-04554; Wnt pathway activator 1RU-58841; PSK-3841; HMR-3841
DMSO solubility83.33 mg/mL≥ 100 mg/mL
DMF solubilityFreely soluble33 mg/mL
Ethanol solubilitySparingly soluble33 mg/mL
Ethanol:PBS (1:5)Insoluble0.16 mg/mL
Form (research)Topical solution 0.15 % / 0.25 %Topical 1 % / 5 % in ethanol/PG
Systemic half-lifeNot reported~1 h (rapid systemic clearance)
Regulatory statusInvestigational; RUO onlyNever approved; research only
HS code2932.99 (oxygen-heterocyclic)2933.29 (imidazoline derivatives)
Bulk pack sizes1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG
Best applicationWnt reporter assays; anagen induction; stem-cell activationTopical AR antagonism; flank-organ model; hirsutism / acne research

Mechanism: SM04554 activates the Wnt pathway; RU58841 binds the androgen receptor (Kd 1.1–1.8 nM at the hamster flank-organ AR) and prevents DHT-driven follicle miniaturisation. The two compounds are functionally opposite in one sense — SM04554 activates follicle stem-cell cycling; RU58841 blocks the androgen signal that drives miniaturisation. In a research workflow, RU58841 sits closer to a finasteride-class mechanism (anti-androgen) than to a Wnt activator.

4. Critical Handling & Storage Guidelines

SM04554 is hygroscopic, light-sensitive, and subject to surface oxidation. The handling profile differs from Minoxidil (more stable, less hygroscopic) and from Setipiprant (more chemically robust but still light-sensitive at scale). Three specific failure modes recur in the literature.

4.1 Light sensitivity risk

UV and ambient light degrade SM04554 in solution and at the solid surface. Standard storage is in amber borosilicate vials or amber screw-cap polypropylene tubes; clear glass vials are not appropriate. Light-protected DMSO stocks in amber vials are stable 24 months at −80 °C and 12 months at −20 °C. Working solutions in clear plates exposed to ambient laboratory light for > 4 h show measurable drift in the TOP-Flash readout.

4.2 Moisture requirement

SM04554 is hygroscopic. Bulk containers should be opened only in a glove box or under dry air; opened containers left at ambient humidity pick up surface moisture within minutes, accelerating degradation. The procurement specification should include a desiccant sachet in every shipment at every pack size; the inner container should be heat-sealed in aluminium foil pouches. Storage is −20 °C, desiccated, protected from light.

4.3 Freeze-thaw warning

Repeated freeze-thaw cycles of DMSO stocks reduce shelf life. Each freeze-thaw introduces water from condensation on the vial thread and accelerates degradation of the parent compound. Standard practice is to aliquot the 10 mM DMSO stock into single-use amber screw-cap vials at 50–100 µL per vial, so that each assay uses a freshly thawed vial that is not refrozen.

FormStorageShelf life
Powder (bulk, unopened)−20 °C, desiccated, amber36 months
Powder (opened)−20 °C, desiccated, amber≤ 12 months recommended
DMSO stock (10 mM, anhydrous)−80 °C, amber, single-use aliquots24 months
DMSO stock (10 mM, anhydrous)−20 °C, amber12 months
Aqueous working solutionRoom temperature, used same day≤ 24 h

5. Supplier Red Flags When Buying SM04554

Five patterns recur in the SM04554 procurement record. None is unique to this compound, but the photolability and hygroscopicity make SM04554 particularly susceptible to supplier-side compromise.

  1. Fake high-purity claims. A CoA that quotes HPLC purity alone, without NMR and LC-MS confirmation, is not sufficient for a Wnt-pathway mechanism screen. The most common pattern is a 99 % HPLC area report on a chromatogram that does not show the parent peak cleanly resolved from the solvent front. The procurement hygiene step is to demand 1H NMR, LC-MS accurate mass of the parent ion (theoretical m/z 297.1121 for [M+H]+), and HPLC with a published method.
  2. Cosmetic-grade powder. SM04554 is supplied under research-use-only terms from RUO producers; the same supply chain that fills cosmetic-grade raw-material drums is not a research supplier. A quotation that lists "SM04554 1 kg, cosmetic grade, for topical serum formulation" is not a research-grade quote and should be rejected at intake. The end-use statement must explicitly read "research use only — not for human or veterinary use."
  3. Clear glass vials. Photodegradation in clear glass during ocean freight has produced batches that fall below the acceptance HPLC purity at intake despite a passing CoA at the supplier site. The procurement specification must fix amber borosilicate vials or amber polypropylene tubes at every pack size.
  4. Misleading marketing. Marketing copy that frames SM04554 as a "hair growth serum" or "topical treatment" implies a finished consumer product — which it is not. Research-grade supply should carry an RUO end-use statement and a research-only safety data sheet; a finished-product SDS indicates cosmetic-grade material. The two supply chains should not be confused.
  5. Missing batch stability data. A CoA that shows identity and purity but does not include accelerated stability (40 °C / 75 % RH, 4 weeks) or a real-time stability trend at −20 °C over 12 months leaves shelf life as an unverified claim. Photolabile and hygroscopic compounds require supplier-side stability data to support the catalogue shelf-life statement.
Procurement specification template: Each SM04554 RFQ should carry five independent identifiers — (i) CAS 1360540-81-3, (ii) InChIKey AOCDRSSVFUCURK-UHFFFAOYSA-N, (iii) molecular formula C18H16O4, (iv) lot number, (v) target pack size (1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG) and container requirement (amber vial). A quotation issued against the trade name "SM04554" without CAS is not valid; the compound name is shared with several structurally related research molecules disclosed in patent WO2012024404A1.

6. Frequently Asked Questions

What is SM04554 (Dalosirvat) and how does it work for hair research?

SM04554 (Dalosirvat, CAS 1360540-81-3, C18H16O4, MW 296.32) is a small-molecule direct Wnt/β-catenin pathway activator with EC50 of 28–29 nM in cell-based reporter assays. It is not a vasodilator and is not an androgen-receptor antagonist — it activates the Wnt signalling cascade that drives hair follicle stem cell activation and anagen entry. The compound was developed by Biosplice Therapeutics (formerly Samumed) as a topical 0.15 % / 0.25 % solution for androgenetic alopecia and advanced to Phase 2/3 (NCT02275351, NCT02503137, NCT03742518) before development was cancelled after the Phase 3 read-out in 2023.

What is the solubility of SM04554 (Dalosirvat) in DMSO and water?

SM04554 is freely soluble in DMSO at 83.33 mg/mL (281.22 mM) with ultrasonication, sparingly soluble in ethanol and methanol, and practically insoluble in water and aqueous buffers. The compound is hygroscopic and absorbs water on contact with humid air; DMSO stocks require warming and sonication to fully dissolve. Aqueous working solutions are prepared by dilution of DMSO stock into PBS or cell-culture media and should be used within 24 hours to avoid precipitation.

How does SM04554 differ from Minoxidil?

SM04554 and Minoxidil work on entirely different mechanisms. SM04554 (CAS 1360540-81-3, MW 296.32) is a direct Wnt/β-catenin pathway activator with EC50 28–29 nM. Minoxidil (CAS 38304-91-5, MW 209.25) is an ATP-sensitive potassium channel opener that requires metabolic activation by follicular sulfotransferase to minoxidil sulfate, which then drives vasodilation and dermal papilla cell viability. Substituting one for the other in a Wnt-pathway reporter screen or a KATP-channel assay is methodologically invalid — the two compounds produce distinct biological readouts at distinct concentrations and on distinct cell systems.

How does SM04554 differ from Setipiprant?

SM04554 (CAS 1360540-81-3) is a direct Wnt pathway activator. Setipiprant (ACT-129968, CAS 906820-08-4, MW 402.42) is a selective prostaglandin D2 receptor 2 (CRTH2/DP2) antagonist with IC50 6 nM at the human DP2 receptor. SM04554 activates follicle stem-cell signalling from above the bulge; Setipiprant blocks the prostaglandin-D2-driven miniaturisation signal at a different node. The two compounds target different pathways, different molecular weights (296.32 vs 402.42 g/mol), different solubility profiles, and have different clinical trajectories — SM04554 in Phase 2/3 topical, Setipiprant in Phase 2A oral (no statistical benefit reported in the 2018 AGA trial). The two are not interchangeable.

Is SM04554 approved by the FDA?

No. SM04554 (Dalosirvat) is an investigational compound that has not been approved by the FDA, EMA, PMDA or NMPA. Biosplice Therapeutics cancelled the Phase 3 clinical development programme after the 2023 read-out, and the compound remains research-only. Material supplied under this entry is restricted to in vitro and animal laboratory research; it is not a drug, supplement, food additive, cosmetic, or finished topical serum.

What are the storage requirements for SM04554 powder and DMSO stock?

SM04554 powder: −20 °C, desiccated, protected from light, in an amber container, for 36 months. The compound is hygroscopic; repeated opening of the container under ambient humidity picks up surface moisture and accelerates degradation. DMSO stocks (10 mM in anhydrous DMSO) are stable 24 months at −80 °C and 12 months at −20 °C, protected from light and from repeated freeze-thaw cycles. Aqueous working solutions should be prepared fresh and used within 24 hours to avoid precipitation.

What purity is required for SM04554 research material?

≥ 98 % HPLC is the standard acceptance criterion for research-grade material; ≥ 99 % HPLC for IND-enabling and chronic-dosing studies. Identity confirmation requires both 1H NMR and LC-MS accurate mass of the parent ion (theoretical m/z 297.1121 for [M+H]+). A CoA that shows HPLC only, without NMR and LC-MS confirmation, is a supplier-priority red flag for a Wnt-pathway mechanism screen where the structural assignment is the basis of the assay.

Can SM04554 be substituted with Minoxidil in a Wnt-pathway reporter assay?

No. Minoxidil (CAS 38304-91-5) is a KATP channel opener and vasodilator. Its Wnt effect is indirect, weak, and mediated through dermal papilla cell viability and cutaneous blood flow — not through direct activation of the Wnt/β-catenin pathway reporter. In a TOP-Flash Wnt reporter assay, Minoxidil produces at most a modest readout at high micromolar concentrations; SM04554 produces a direct response with EC50 28–29 nM. Substituting one for the other in a Wnt-pathway mechanism screen produces a flat curve at expected biological concentrations, not a biological signal.

What is the half-life and clinical status of Setipiprant?

Setipiprant (ACT-129968, CAS 906820-08-4) has an oral human half-life of approximately 11 hours, with peak plasma concentration reached between 1.8 and 4 hours after oral administration. The Phase 2A androgenetic alopecia trial completed in May 2018 in males aged 18–49 did not find statistically significant improvement versus placebo, and no further AGA trials have been publicly disclosed. The earlier asthma and allergic rhinitis programme was halted after Phase 2/3 results did not differentiate from existing therapies. The compound remains research-only.

What are the supplier red flags for SM04554 procurement?

Five patterns recur. (a) HPLC-only CoA without NMR and LC-MS confirmation. (b) Cosmetic-grade powder labelled for research use — the same supply chain that fills cosmetic-grade raw-material drums is not an RUO source. (c) Clear glass vials (not amber) — the compound degrades on exposure to UV and ambient light during transit. (d) Finished topical-serum claims or marketing copy implying human use. (e) Missing batch stability data — a CoA that does not show accelerated stability (40 °C / 75 % RH, 4 weeks) or a real-time stability trend on the reference package leaves shelf life as an unverified claim.

Are these hair research compounds the same as finished hair-loss treatments?

No. SM04554 (Dalosirvat), Minoxidil, Setipiprant and RU58841 are all research compounds supplied to in vitro and animal laboratory research programmes under a research-use-only statement. None is a finished topical serum, oral supplement, cosmetic product, or consumer hair-loss treatment. Procurement specification should always carry the research-use-only end-use statement and the destination-jurisdiction regulatory check; a quotation issued without these is not valid for research-grade procurement.

Does SM04554 appear on the 2026 WADA Prohibited List?

No. The 2026 WADA Prohibited List does not name SM04554 (Dalosirvat), Minoxidil, Setipiprant or RU58841. None of the four compounds is a classical stimulant, narcotic, anabolic agent, hormone modulator or beta-blocker. Minoxidil is on the in-competition monitoring programme in some jurisdictions but is not on the 2026 Prohibited List. The compliance status of an athlete using a research compound for in vitro work is set by the federation's medical staff regardless of the molecule's regulatory status. Procurement specification should confirm any national anti-doping requirement before commercial export.

7. Final Verdict: SM04554 vs Minoxidil vs Setipiprant vs RU58841

For a Wnt-pathway reporter screen, an anagen-induction assay in human hair follicle organ culture, or any β-catenin / Axin2 / Lef1 readout — SM04554 is the right default. EC50 28–29 nM in the TOP-Flash assay, free solubility in DMSO at 83 mg/mL, and the only direct Wnt activator in the four-compound comparison. The hygroscopicity and light-sensitivity demand amber containers, desiccation and single-use DMSO aliquots, but the procurement specification is straightforward at the standard 1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG pack sizes.

For dermal papilla viability assays, KATP channel opening studies, or any cutaneous blood-flow work — Minoxidil is the right reference standard. The compound is FDA-approved, USP / EP monographed, and freely available at research-grade purity with a clean pharmacology record. The KATP channel mechanism is distinct from the Wnt activator mechanism, and Minoxidil's vasodilator profile is the dominant side effect that any cell-based work must control for.

For CRTH2/DP2 receptor binding assays, Th2-cytokine release studies, or prostaglandin-D2 signalling work — Setipiprant is the right probe. IC50 6 nM at the human DP2 receptor, oral human half-life of ~11 h, and a clean selectivity profile over DP1 / EP2 / EP4. The 2018 Phase 2A AGA read-out was negative and the programme is dormant, but the compound remains a gold-standard research probe for the CRTH2 pathway.

For androgen-receptor binding in skin, flank-organ androgen-response studies, or any topical antiandrogen mechanism — RU58841 is the right reference standard. Kd 1.1–1.8 nM at the androgen receptor, rapid systemic clearance (~1 h), and topical-only profile that avoids the systemic anti-androgen confounders seen with bicalutamide or finasteride. The compound was never approved and is supplied under RUO only.

The four are not interchangeable in any hair research workflow, and a quotation issued against one cannot be substituted for another. The decision is mechanism-dependent and assay-dependent; the procurement specification depends on CAS, molecular target, and pack size being consistent across the catalogue.

Quote SM04554, Minoxidil, Setipiprant or RU58841 research-grade powder

Wholesale programme covers all four compounds in research and bulk grades. Each lot ships with HPLC CoA, 1H NMR, LC-MS accurate mass identity, residual solvents by ICH Q3C, heavy metals by USP 232, and a research-use-only end-use statement. Bulk pack sizes 1 G / 10 G / 100 G / 1 KG / 10 KG available for export in amber borosilicate vials with desiccant.

Request a Quotation
SM04554 SM-04554 Dalosirvat Wnt pathway activator 1 Wnt beta-catenin CAS 1360540-81-3 Biosplice Therapeutics Samumed androgenetic alopecia hair research compound topical formulation RUO Minoxidil Loniten Rogaine KATP channel opener vasodilator CAS 38304-91-5 minoxidil sulfate Setipiprant ACT-129968 KYTH-105 CRTH2 antagonist DP2 antagonist prostaglandin D2 receptor CAS 906820-08-4 RU58841 RU-58841 PSK-3841 HMR-3841 non-steroidal antiandrogen androgen receptor antagonist CAS 154992-24-2 Roussel Uclaf hair research chemicals topical API research use only Androgenetic alopecia research HS 2932 HS 2933
Research use only. SM04554 (Dalosirvat, CAS 1360540-81-3), Minoxidil (CAS 38304-91-5), Setipiprant (ACT-129968, KYTH-105, CAS 906820-08-4) and RU58841 (PSK-3841, CAS 154992-24-2) are investigational research compounds. None is approved by the FDA, EMA, PMDA or NMPA as a finished drug, dietary supplement, cosmetic, or consumer hair-loss treatment. Minoxidil is approved for topical application as a finished product in the United States (since 1988) and other jurisdictions, but the research-grade powder supplied under this entry is restricted to in vitro and animal laboratory research under a research-use-only end-use statement. SM04554 was cancelled by Biosplice Therapeutics after the Phase 3 clinical read-out in 2023. Setipiprant failed the Phase 2A androgenetic alopecia trial in 2018 and the asthma / allergic rhinitis programme was discontinued earlier. RU58841 has never been approved in any jurisdiction. All four compounds are covered under the standard supplier-side RUO terms, end-use statement, and destination-jurisdiction regulatory check. Procurement specification should always fix CAS against molecular target and pack size against the catalogue.