CRL-40,940 vs CRL-40,941: Flmodafinil & Fladrafinil — Identity, Prodrug Relationship & 2026 WADA Status | NutraBiotech
📅 September 22, 2026 ⏱ 18 min read 🧪 Nootropics / Eugeroics ✏️ NutraBiotech Research Team 🔄 Updated 2026

CRL-40,940 vs CRL-40,941: Flmodafinil and Fladrafinil — One Oxygen Atom, One Digit, Two Distinct Compounds

Two development codes that look like typos of each other. CRL-40,940 — Flmodafinil and CRL-40,941 — Fladrafinil sit one digit apart on the Lafon sulfinylacetamide development ladder and one oxygen atom apart on the periodic table. The note below fixes identity (CAS, formula, MW, synonyms), the prodrug relationship, atypical DAT pharmacology, the LC-HRMS method that separates them, the 2026 WADA S6 listing, and packaging guidance from 1 MG to 10 G.

At a Glance

CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 are not variants of one substance. The two share a bis-(p-fluorophenyl)-methyl sulfinyl motif — the same framework that defines the Lafon eugeroic program (modafinil, adrafinil) — but CRL-40,941 carries an extra N-hydroxyl group that the published record describes as a prodrug handle, converting to CRL-40,940 in vivo (Krug et al., 2026). The 2026 WADA Prohibited List has named both compounds explicitly under S6 (Stimulants).

CRL-40,940
90280-13-0
CRL-40,941
90212-80-9
Δ Formula
+ 1 O (16 Da)
Δ MW
309.33 → 325.33
Family
Lafon sulfinylacetamide
WADA 2026
S6.A non-specified

1. CRL-40,940 vs CRL-40,941 — Family Snapshot

Both compounds descend from the same medicinal-chemistry program that produced modafinil (CRL-40,476) and adrafinil (CRL-40,028) at Laboratoire L. Lafon (later Cephalon / Teva). The "CRL-40" prefix is the Lafon internal code; the last three digits are sequential. The two entries separated here — 940 and 941 — are the bis-(p-fluoro) phenyl ring-substituted analogues of modafinil and adrafinil respectively, also known as flmodafinil and fladrafinil.

FieldCRL-40,940CRL-40,941
INN-style nameFlmodafinilFladrafinil
Other namesBisfluoromodafinil; Lauflumide; NLS-4; JBG01-41Fluorafinil; Bisfluoroadrafinil
CAS Number90280-13-090212-80-9
PubChem CID1327185213316557
Molecular formulaC15H13F2NO2SC15H13F2NO3S
Molecular weight309.33 g·mol−1325.33 g·mol−1
Functional differencePrimary amide (−CONH2)N-hydroxy amide (−C(OH)·NHO)
Mass delta vs. parentmodafinil − 2 H, + 2 F (+36 Da)adrafinil − 2 H, + 2 F (+36 Da)
Pharmacological classAtypical DAT inhibitor (parent)Atypical DAT inhibitor (N-hydroxyl prodrug candidate)
Status (US / EU)Not approved; research use onlyNot approved; research use only
2026 WADA listingS6.A non-specified stimulantS6.A non-specified stimulant
Identity hygiene: The two CAS numbers — 90280-13-0 and 90212-80-9 — are exactly one digit apart in the last block, and the molecular formulas are separated by a single oxygen. Both factors have produced repeated catalogue mis-listing across suppliers. Identity must be confirmed by retention time plus accurate mass of the parent ion, not by trade name or appearance.

2. Identity Table — CAS, Formula, Synonyms, UNII

The identifiers below are the unambiguous way to disambiguate the two at the bench. Note the UNII codes (FDA Substance Registration System) and the EPA CompTox Dashboard IDs — both are independent of CAS and resolve to distinct registry entries.

IdentifierCRL-40,940CRL-40,941
CAS Registry90280-13-090212-80-9
PubChem CID1327185213316557
ChemSpider2638680329785194
UNII174R2IG4T05RT6X0M01F
EPA CompTox (DTXSID)DTXSID00533646DTXSID40536590
IUPAC name2-{[bis(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]sulfinyl}acetamide2-{[bis(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]sulfinyl}-N-hydroxyacetamide
Molecular formulaC15H13F2NO2SC15H13F2NO3S
Molecular weight309.33 g·mol−1325.33 g·mol−1
Exact mass (monoisotopic)309.064 g·mol−1325.059 g·mol−1
Synonymsflmodafinil; bisfluoromodafinil; Lauflumide; CRL-40940; NLS-4; JBG01-41; JBG1-41; JBG1-041fladrafinil; fluorafinil; bisfluoroadrafinil; CRL-40941; CRL-40,941
Watch the name: "Bisfluoromodafinil" and "bisfluoroadrafinil" describe the same two bis-(p-fluoro) ring systems respectively, but the suffixes (modafinil vs adrafinil) flip the molecular formula by one oxygen. Treat "flmodafinil" and "fladrafinil" as the preferred unambiguous names — they encode the parent compound (modafinil / adrafinil) inside the term.

3. The Lafon Sulfinylacetamide Family — Where They Sit Next to Modafinil and Adrafinil

The two compounds are best understood as the di-fluorinated rung of the Lafon eugeroic ladder. The family tree, in four members:

  1. Modafinil (CRL-40,476) — parent acetamide, C15H15NO2S, 273.35 g·mol−1, CAS 68693-13-3. The wakefulness-promoting drug approved in the US (1998) and EU (1997) as Provigil; Schedule IV in the US.
  2. Armodafinil — the (R)-enantiomer of modafinil, C15H15NO2S, 273.35 g·mol−1, CAS 112111-43-0. Approved as Nuvigil; same scaffold, longer apparent duration.
  3. Adrafinil (CRL-40,028) — modafinil's N-hydroxyl prodrug, C15H15NO3S, 289.35 g·mol−1, CAS 63547-13-7. Never approved; once sold in France as Olmifon. The "adrafinil → modafinil" liver conversion is the textbook example of an N-dehydroxylation prodrug pair.
  4. CRL-40,940 (flmodafinil) and CRL-40,941 (fladrafinil) — the di-fluoro analogues of modafinil and adrafinil respectively, made by replacing both phenyl hydrogens at the para position with fluorine. Two new C–F bonds in each molecule.
The relationship: adrafinil : modafinil = CRL-40,941 : CRL-40,940. Same N-dehydroxylation reaction, same approximate 16 Da mass delta, same difluoro substitution on the benzhydryl. The structural difference between the two pairs is identical to the structural difference between CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 — a single oxygen.

The Lafon program was assigned to Cephalon in 2001 and is now part of Teva. The 1984 patent that disclosed the halogenated sulfinyl-acetohydroxamic acid series (US 4,489,095) is the original IP record for both CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941. NLS Pharma subsequently picked up flmodafinil for the indications listed by the source materials (chronic fatigue syndrome in preclinical status; idiopathic hypersomnia, narcolepsy, ADHD, Alzheimer's disease — development now discontinued for the latter four).

4. Mechanism — Atypical DAT Inhibition and Selectivity Profile

Both compounds sit in the atypical DAT-inhibitor class — the same pharmacological family as modafinil, which dissociates from classical psychostimulants on three grounds: weak locomotor activation, low sigma-1 receptor binding, and the absence of broad monoamine release. The published receptor affinities for flmodafinil (CRL-40,940) at human monoamine transporters, from the medicinal-chemistry literature, are:

TargetLigandKi (nM) — CRL-40,940Functional effect
Dopamine transporter (DAT)[³H]WIN-354284,090~83 % DAT occupancy; atypical DRI profile
Serotonin transporter (SERT)[³H]citalopram48,700~12-fold selectivity for DAT over SERT
Sigma-1 receptor (σ1)[³H]pentazocine> 100,000Negligible σ1 binding
NET (norepinephrine transporter)—Not reported in same assay seriesModafinil literature reports modest NET interaction

Why "atypical"

  • Classical psychostimulants (methylphenidate, amphetamine) release dopamine through the transporter or block reuptake with strong locomotor activation. Flmodafinil blocks reuptake with substantially weaker locomotor effect.
  • DAT occupancy of ~83 % in rodent voltammetry (Keighron et al., 2019) is higher than methylphenidate at therapeutic exposure — yet the wakefulness phenotype is described as "clean," without anxiogenic or sympathetic tone.
  • Unlike modafinil, flmodafinil does not induce cytochrome P450 isoforms — a meaningful difference for metabolic-stability work and for chronic-dosing studies (drug-drug interaction surface is reduced).
Mechanism caveat: DAT Ki 4,090 nM is a moderate binding affinity relative to high-affinity DRIs (cocaine Ki ~250 nM). The pharmacology of this class appears to depend on the combination of DAT inhibition, mild NET interaction, and downstream orexinergic / histaminergic tone — not on DAT affinity alone.

5. CRL-40,940 (Flmodafinil) — Research Profile

CRL-40,940 is the more data-rich of the two. The published literature covers dopamine transporter voltammetry, comparative SAR against modafinil and adrafinil, and a preclinical program at NLS Pharma in chronic fatigue syndrome.

Research applications in the literature

  • DAT probe in voltammetry and microdialysis — Keighron et al. (2019) used flmodafinil to map dopamine dynamics in the nucleus accumbens shell, showing greater DAT occupancy than modafinil at equivalent doses.
  • Comparative SAR across the eugeroic series — flmodafinil is the standard para-fluoro reference against which armodafinil, esmodafinil, adrafinil, fladrafinil and CE-123 are profiled.
  • Wakefulness circuit mapping — used to identify the dopaminergic component of wake-promoting circuits separately from orexinergic or histaminergic contributions.
  • Cognitive / attention readouts — preclinically examined for attention, working memory and time-on-task endpoints under baseline and sleep-restricted conditions.
  • Preclinical ME/CFS program (NLS Pharma) — in development for chronic fatigue syndrome as of January 2024 (preclinical stage). Earlier NLS programs in narcolepsy, idiopathic hypersomnia, ADHD and Alzheimer's disease were discontinued.

Why flmodafinil over modafinil as a probe

  • No CYP induction (modafinil induces CYP3A4 and CYP2C19 in chronic exposure).
  • Greater apparent DAT selectivity over SERT (12-fold) and negligible σ1 binding — fewer off-target channels to deconvolute.
  • Two para-fluorines create a stable, electron-poor benzhydryl motif that resists the major hepatic amide-cleavage and oxidation pathways of the unhalogenated parent.

6. CRL-40,941 (Fladrafinil) — Prodrug Relationship and Anti-Aggression Readout

CRL-40,941 is the N-hydroxyl analogue — structurally one oxygen away from CRL-40,940 — and the published record consistently treats it as a prodrug precursor to flmodafinil, paralleling the adrafinil-to-modafinil relationship in the unhalogenated series (Krug et al., 2026).

The prodrug case

  • Both compounds share the same downstream metabolite set: flmodafinil acid (hydrolysis of the sulfinylacetamide to the carboxylic acid) and flmodafinil sulfone (oxidation of the sulfoxide to the sulfone) are the principal metabolites detected after administration of either parent (Krug et al., 2026).
  • When CRL-40,941 is administered, an offset appears before flmodafinil reaches its plasma maximum — the kinetic signature of a compound being converted to its N-dehydroxylated analogue in vivo.
  • The +16 Da mass difference between 941 and 940 is precisely the mass of one oxygen; the loss of water (H2O, 18 Da) from CRL-40,941 with retention of two hydrogens would yield a different balance. The N-dehydroxylation mechanism is consistent with the literature on adrafinil (CRL-40,028 → modafinil CRL-40,476), where the same transformation is well characterized.

Distinctive readouts for CRL-40,941

  • Anti-aggressive effect in animal models — fladrafinil is reported to reduce aggression in animal paradigms, an effect that adrafinil (the unhalogenated parent prodrug) does not produce. The effect is described as 3–4× more potent than adrafinil in the same model.
  • Pharmacokinetics are still being characterised as of 2026 — the on-line pharmacokinetic data for CRL-40,941 are substantially thinner than for CRL-40,940 or modafinil, and most of what is published addresses its appearance as a metabolite rather than as a primary administered compound.
Prodrug consequence: A laboratory that holds material labelled CRL-40,941 in fact holds material that is metabolically indistinguishable from CRL-40,940 on a routine metabolite screen. Discrimination rests on the parent compound — accurate-mass HPLC or LC-HRMS — and on timing.

7. Head-to-Head Comparison Table

FieldCRL-40,940CRL-40,941
Synonymsflmodafinil, bisfluoromodafinil, lauflumidefladrafinil, fluorafinil, bisfluoroadrafinil
CAS90280-13-090212-80-9
Molecular formulaC15H13F2NO2SC15H13F2NO3S
MW (g·mol−1)309.33325.33
Parent compoundmodafinil (CRL-40,476, CAS 68693-13-3)adrafinil (CRL-40,028, CAS 63547-13-7)
Mass difference to parent+36 Da (loss of 2 H, gain of 2 F)+36 Da (loss of 2 H, gain of 2 F)
Functional groupprimary amide (−CONH2)hydroxamic-acid amide (−CONHOH)
Pharmacological statusatypical DAT inhibitor, parentatypical DAT inhibitor, N-hydroxyl prodrug candidate
DAT Ki (hDAT)4,090 nMnot reported in same assay series
SERT Ki (hSERT)48,700 nM (12-fold DAT-selective)not reported in same assay series
σ1 Ki> 100,000 nMnot reported in same assay series
CYP450 inductionnot inducernot characterised in this series
Distinctive preclinical readoutDAT voltammetry; wakefulness circuits; NLS Pharma ME/CFS programanti-aggressive effect in animal models (not produced by adrafinil)
Principal metabolite(s)flmodafinil acid; flmodafinil sulfoneflmodafinil acid; flmodafinil sulfone
WADA 2026 statusS6.A non-specified stimulant (named)S6.A non-specified stimulant (named)
Source materials / IPLafon (US 4,489,095, 1984); NLS Pharma (preclinical)Lafon (US 4,489,095, 1984)
Standard research packaging1 MG / 10 MG / 100 MG / 1 G / 5 G / 10 G1 MG / 10 MG / 100 MG / 1 G / 5 G / 10 G
Reference useanalytical reference standard; in vitro pharmacologyanalytical reference standard; prodrug / metabolism research
CRL-40,940 vs CRL-40,941 mass delta schematic Schematic of the mass difference between flmodafinil CRL-40,940 and fladrafinil CRL-40,941, highlighting the single oxygen (16 Da) gap. Mass delta between CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 CRL-40,940 — Flmodafinil C₁₅H₁₃F₂NO₂S 309.33 g·mol⁻¹ CAS 90280-13-0 primary amide −CONH₂ CRL-40,941 — Fladrafinil C₁₅H₁₃F₂NO₃S 325.33 g·mol⁻¹ CAS 90212-80-9 N-hydroxy −CONHOH Δ 16.00 Da  =  +1 oxygen Mass delta alone cannot distinguish the two — identical parent-product metabolite set
Figure 1. CRL-40,940 (flmodafinil, teal) and CRL-40,941 (fladrafinil, violet) differ by 16.00 Da — exactly one oxygen atom. Routine downstream screens against either compound produce the same principal metabolites (flmodafinil acid, flmodafinil sulfone), so the parent-compound accurate-mass signal must be used for unambiguous identification.

8. Analytical Verification — Why One Oxygen Defeats Metabolite-Only Methods

Identity work for these two compounds has moved steadily toward LC-HRMS in the past three years. Three independent method papers form the verification backbone:

  • Bakota & Nandrea (2025) — Kansas City Human and Animal Food Laboratory (FDA). LC-HRMS on a Thermo Q-Exactive, Thermo Hypersil Gold C18 column, acetonitrile extraction from dietary supplement matrix. The validated method separates modafinil from four novel unscheduled modafinil analogues: adrafinil, CRL-40,940, CRL-40,941, and N-methyl-4,4-difluoromodafinil. Standard curve 10 ng/mL – 450 ng/mL. Confirmation by retention time + exact mass of parent ion + exact mass of fragment ions. Journal of Dietary Supplements 22(2):329–344, PMID 39466147, doi:10.1080/19390211.2024.2417673.
  • Krug et al. (2026) — German Sport University Cologne, Center for Preventive Doping Research. LC-HRMS quantification of both compounds and their metabolites in urine and dried blood spots; limits of detection 0.2–4 ng/mL. Principal metabolites identified as flmodafinil acid and flmodafinil sulfone. Drug Testing and Analysis 18(8):1076–1087, PMID 42210629, doi:10.1002/dta.70100.
  • Dowling et al. (2017) — thermal-degradation study. Under GC-injector conditions, modafinil-family compounds form 1,1,2,2-tetraphenylethane and its tetra-fluoro analogue — the thermal degrades are mass-loss relevant for any GC-based screen. LC methods should be preferred over GC for the parent compound. Drug Testing and Analysis 9(3):518–528, PMID 27928893, doi:10.1002/dta.2142.
Why one oxygen matters: Both compounds feed into the same metabolite pool (flmodafinil acid + flmodafinil sulfone). A laboratory that validates a method against material labelled CRL-40,941 which is in fact CRL-40,940 will not see the substitution from the downstream metabolite profile. Detection rests on the parent compound — accurate-mass HPLC or LC-HRMS — and on timing. A blank-matrix extraction in acetonitrile followed by C18 separation with exact-mass parent confirmation is the current standard.

9. 2026 WADA Listing and Regulatory / Export Risk

On 1 January 2026, both compounds were added by name to the WADA Prohibited List under S6 (Stimulants), sub-list S6.A (non-specified stimulants). The published USADA summary is explicit on nomenclature:

  • CRL-40,940 — listed as "2-[Bis(4-fluorophenyl)methylsulfinyl]acetamide (flmodafinil)" — S6.A non-specified.
  • CRL-40,941 — listed as "2-[bis(4-fluorophenyl) methylsulfinyl]-N-hydroxyacetamide (fladrafinil)" — S6.A non-specified.
Implication of being named: Both compounds were already covered by S6 as a class (the category-level prohibition applies to all non-specified stimulants). The practical change is that they are now named confirmation targets — accredited laboratories are expected to hold reference material, run validated methods and report findings, rather than relying on a category-level interpretation. For research sponsors, this raises the standard of documentation required around any reference standard purchase or shipment.

Outside sport — country-by-country picture

  • United States (FDA) — neither compound has an IND; both are unapproved for any human or veterinary use. Neither is a controlled substance under the federal Controlled Substances Act, but state analogue statutes act, can capture research-use material.
  • European Union — neither is a scheduled narcotic or psychotropic under the UN conventions. Several member states regulate psychoactive substances by effect rather than by list, and may treat them as prescription-only or research-only at the national level.
  • United Kingdom — Psychoactive Substances Act 2016 captures compounds supplied for their psychoactive effect; both fall within the scope of the act for supply.
  • Australia (TGA) — neither is in Schedule 4 or Schedule 8; both fall under unscheduled / research-only supply expectations.
  • China — domestic precursor / new psychoactive substance regulation applies; export is governed by the chemical weapons and drug administration frameworks and requires an explicit RUO destination and COA.

For export shipments of reference standards, the minimum paperwork stack is: commercial invoice with CAS number, signed COA (HPLC purity + identity by NMR or LC-MS), Safety Data Sheet, end-use statement ("research use only — not for human consumption"), and the destination's import permit where required. The HS classification most commonly applied is 2930.90 (organo-sulphur compounds) or 2924.29 (other cyclic amides); the relevant tariff should be confirmed with the destination customs broker on a shipment-by-shipment basis.

10. Packaging, COA, Storage and Sourcing Checklist

Both compounds are supplied as research-grade powder in standard analytical packaging grades. The available pack sizes cover analytical reference work through scale-up validation:

Pack sizeTypical useFormat
1 MGanalytical method qualification; identity NMRamber glass vial, PTFE-lined cap
10 MGLC-MS reference standard; binding assay stockamber glass vial, PTFE-lined cap
100 MGin vitro pharmacology; metabolite generationamber glass vial, PTFE-lined cap
1 Gin vivo dosing stock; stability studiesamber glass bottle, induction-sealed
5 Gscale-up; formulation screeningamber glass bottle, induction-sealed
10 Gextended program supply; reference standard reserveamber glass bottle, induction-sealed

COA requirements at intake

  • HPLC purity — ≥ 98 % (UV detection). CoBAS should declare the method, column, mobile phase, detection wavelength and the integrator report.
  • Identity confirmation — 1H NMR in CDCl3 or DMSO-d6, or LC-MS accurate-mass parent ion matching theoretical m/z within ≤ 5 ppm.
  • Residual solvent — GC-headspace profile against ICH Q3C limits for the solvents used in synthesis or recrystallisation.
  • Water content — Karl Fischer titration; relevant for any assay where the active is weighed as the parent rather than as a salt or hydrate.
  • Heavy metals — ICP-MS or USP <232>/<233> panel for the intended use.

Storage conditions

  • Solid bulk: −20 °C, desiccated, protected from light. Both compounds are stable as the dry powder under these conditions for at least 24 months in published stability data.
  • DMSO stocks: prepare at known concentration (e.g., 10 mM), aliquot, store at −20 °C or below, protected from light. Avoid repeated freeze-thaw cycles.
  • Working solutions: prepare fresh; use within the same working day for cell-based work.
Sourcing takeaway: For both compounds, the procurement specification should fix three fields independently — CAS, lot number and exact mass — and the COA should report HPLC purity, identity method, and water / residual solvent. A quotation issued against only one of the two compounds is not valid for the other; the two differ in formula, biological readouts, and regulatory dossier.

Quote CRL-40,940 or CRL-40,941 research-grade powder

Both compounds are stocked at research grade in 1 MG / 10 MG / 100 MG / 1 G / 5 G / 10 G packaging. Each lot ships with HPLC COA, 1H NMR identity, residual-solvent profile and a research-use-only end-use statement.

Request a Quotation

11. Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941?

CRL-40,940 (flmodafinil, CAS 90280-13-0, C15H13F2NO2S, 309.33 g·mol−1) is the bis-(p-fluoro) analogue of modafinil — a primary amide. CRL-40,941 (fladrafinil, CAS 90212-80-9, C15H13F2NO3S, 325.33 g·mol−1) is the bis-(p-fluoro) analogue of adrafinil — the N-hydroxy analogue of CRL-40,940. The two CAS numbers are one digit apart; the molecular formulas differ by a single oxygen (16 Da).

Is CRL-40,941 a prodrug of CRL-40,940?

The published record describes CRL-40,941 as a prodrug precursor to CRL-40,940. After administration of CRL-40,941, the principal metabolites detected are flmodafinil acid and flmodafinil sulfone — the same metabolite set generated by CRL-40,940 itself (Krug et al., 2026). The relationship mirrors the established adrafinil → modafinil N-dehydroxylation in the unhalogenated series.

Which compound has higher DAT affinity — CRL-40,940 or CRL-40,941?

DAT affinity has been published for CRL-40,940: Ki 4,090 nM at hDAT, with a 12-fold selectivity over SERT and negligible σ1 binding (Ki > 100,000 nM). For CRL-40,941, no equivalent receptor-panel Ki series has been published in the medicinal-chemistry record accessible to this date. The published readouts for CRL-40,941 focus on metabolism and anti-aggressive effect in vivo rather than on receptor affinity.

Are CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 listed on the 2026 WADA Prohibited List?

Yes. On 1 January 2026 both compounds were added by name to the WADA Prohibited List under S6 (Stimulants), sub-list S6.A (non-specified stimulants). CRL-40,940 appears as "2-[Bis(4-fluorophenyl)methylsulfinyl]acetamide (flmodafinil)"; CRL-40,941 appears as "2-[bis(4-fluorophenyl) methylsulfinyl]-N-hydroxyacetamide (fladrafinil)". Being named turns them into routine confirmation targets for accredited laboratories.

Can flmodafinil acid and flmodafinil sulfone be used to tell the two compounds apart?

No. Both compounds feed into the same downstream metabolite pool: flmodafinil acid (hydrolysis of the sulfinylacetamide) and flmodafinil sulfone (oxidation of the sulfoxide). A laboratory that screens for these two metabolites alone will see positive results for both administered compounds; the only differentiator is the parent compound itself, observed in the dosing window before extensive metabolism.

Which analytical method separates CRL-40,940 from CRL-40,941?

LC-HRMS on a C18 column with acetonitrile / water / formic acid gradient, accurate-mass detection of the parent ion, is the current standard. The Bakota & Nandrea (2025) method used a Thermo Q-Exactive with a Thermo Hypersil Gold C18 column, acetonitrile extraction, and exact-mass confirmation of parent and fragment ions; the standard curve spans 10–450 ng/mL. Krug et al. (2026) extended the same approach to urine and dried blood spots, with limits of detection 0.2–4 ng/mL.

What is the difference between flmodafinil and modafinil?

Flmodafinil (CRL-40,940) is modafinil with both phenyl rings para-fluorinated. The two differ by 2 H (loss) + 2 F (gain), a 36 Da mass shift. Unlike modafinil, flmodafinil does not induce cytochrome P450 isoforms, reducing the drug-drug interaction surface. The bis-fluoro substitution produces a more electron-poor benzhydryl motif with different metabolic stability against hepatic amide-cleavage and oxidation.

What packaging sizes are available for CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941?

Research-grade powder is supplied in 1 MG, 10 MG, 100 MG, 1 G, 5 G and 10 G packaging. The 1–100 MG grades support analytical method qualification and in vitro pharmacology; 1–10 G support in vivo dosing stock, stability studies and scale-up formulation work. All pack sizes ship as amber glass containers with PTFE-lined or induction-sealed caps.

What COA documents should accompany a shipment of CRL-40,940 or CRL-40,941?

HPLC purity ≥ 98 % (UV, with full chromatogram and integrator report); identity by 1H NMR or LC-MS accurate-mass parent ion matching theoretical m/z within ≤ 5 ppm; residual-solvent GC-headspace profile against ICH Q3C limits; water content by Karl Fischer; and a heavy-metals panel for the intended use. The shipment should also carry an end-use statement declaring research-use-only.

Are CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 approved for human use?

No. Neither compound is approved for human or veterinary use in the United States, the European Union, or any other major regulatory jurisdiction as of September 2026. NLS Pharma has flmodafinil in preclinical development for chronic fatigue syndrome; earlier programs in narcolepsy, idiopathic hypersomnia, ADHD and Alzheimer's disease were discontinued. Both compounds are supplied strictly for laboratory research use.

How should CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 powders be stored in a research lab?

Solid bulk: −20 °C, desiccated, protected from light. DMSO working stocks (e.g., 10 mM) should be aliquoted, stored at −20 °C or below, protected from light, and protected from repeated freeze-thaw cycles. Working solutions should be prepared fresh and used within the same working day for cell-based assays.

What is the regulatory status of CRL-40,940 and CRL-40,941 outside of sport?

Neither compound is a scheduled narcotic or psychotropic under the UN conventions. In the United States neither is a federally scheduled substance, but state analogue acts can apply. In the European Union, several member states regulate psychoactive substances by effect rather than by list. The United Kingdom's Psychoactive Substances Act captures both for supply. Australia, China and other jurisdictions apply research-only or new-psychoactive-substance frameworks. Any cross-border shipment should be confirmed against the destination's chemical-control list before dispatch.

12. Conclusion

CRL-40,940 (flmodafinil) and CRL-40,941 (fladrafinil) are two distinct research compounds separated by a single oxygen atom and a single digit in their development codes — and that is the entire difference between a parent DAT inhibitor and its N-hydroxyl prodrug candidate. The mass delta is 16 Da; the molecular formulas differ by one oxygen; the IUPAC names differ by a single N-hydroxyl group; and the downstream metabolite pool is identical. Routine downstream screens against flmodafinil acid or flmodafinil sulfone cannot tell which two molecules were given. The reliable evidence for unambiguous assignment is the accurate-mass signal of the parent compound itself.

For research sourcing, the practical consequences are:

  • The CAS number is the disambiguator of record — 90280-13-0 for CRL-40,940, 90212-80-9 for CRL-40,941. Quotation, COA, and SDS must each carry the CAS.
  • The 2026 WADA listing has made both compounds routine confirmation targets for accredited doping-control laboratories; reference standards for either should be supported by an LC-HRMS-grade COA.
  • Packaging is supplied in 1 MG, 10 MG, 100 MG, 1 G, 5 G and 10 G grades, all shipped under a research-use-only end-use statement.

The next note in this cluster covers the broader Lafon sulfinylacetamide family and the analogues that sit further out on the SAR ladder — modafinil, armodafinil, adrafinil and the N-methyl-4,4-difluoromodafinil reference standard already named in the FDA laboratory's analytical method.

CRL-40,940 CRL-40,941 flmodafinil fladrafinil bisfluoromodafinil Lauflumide fluorafinil CAS 90280-13-0 CAS 90212-80-9 DAT inhibitor dopamine reuptake inhibitor modafinil analog adrafinil analog eugeroic Lafon prodrug N-dehydroxylation WADA 2026 S6 stimulant LC-HRMS reference standard nootropic research chemical research use only RUO nootropics category research chemicals category
Research use only. CRL-40,940 (flmodafinil) and CRL-40,941 (fladrafinil) are not approved for human or veterinary use in any jurisdiction. Both compounds are supplied strictly for laboratory research, analytical method development and in vitro pharmacology. They are not drugs, supplements, food additives, cosmetics or any other consumer product. Any reference to clinical, therapeutic or recreational use in source materials is illustrative of the research literature only and does not constitute a recommendation. Both compounds are on the 2026 WADA Prohibited List under S6.A (non-specified stimulants); athletes subject to anti-doping rules should treat them as prohibited. Always confirm the regulatory status in the destination jurisdiction before ordering, exporting or possessing either compound.